Uniting for Freedom, Democracy & Equality

The British Committee for Iran Freedom Condemns Artillery Shelling of Residential Areas in the Baluchistan Province of Iran

The British Parliamentary Committee for Iran Freedom (BCFIF) has issued a statement condemning the shelling of residential areas in Iran’s Baluchistan.

The full text of this statement is as follows:

Strong condemnation of the artillery shelling of residential areas in Korin and Shurovo, in the Baluchistan province of Iran

The killing of civilians, women and children, is a war crime of the religious dictatorship

In recent days, the religious and terrorist dictatorship in power in Iran has carried out a new wave of repression and military attacks against the population of deprived areas of Baluchistan, especially in the regions and villages of Korin, Zahedan, Shuro and Saadabad.

According to information received from sources in the Iranian Resistance, the Mojahedin Organization and the National Council of Resistance of Iran, over the past two days, IRGC forces have fired on residents near the village of Saeedabad Galugah in Korin district.

With these repressive attacks, the Iranian regime sent columns of military vehicles with semi-heavy weapons, artillery and Katyusha into the area. Reports indicate that Khamenei’s repressive forces and the Qods Force of the Revolutionary Guard Corps shelled several areas, including the village of Shuro, destroying homes and killing at least three people, including a woman and a 12-year-old child.

This inhumane act of a regime condemned in at least 68 UN resolutions, including the UN General Assembly in December 2021, for widespread and systematic human rights violations, is a war crime and its perpetrators must be held accountable in court.

It should be noted that in recent weeks throughout Iran, despite the tragedy of the coronavirus, there has been a wave of demonstrations and strikes by hundreds of thousands of people.

From the farmers’ sit-in and Isfahan uprising to protest the draining of Zayandehroud River by the Revolutionary Guards, the teachers’ protests in more than 200 cities of Iran against discrimination and violation of their rights, to the suppression of workers, herders, nurses and medical personnel due to the astronomical embezzlement of funds by the Revolutionary Guards and the clerical regime’s rulers, Khamenei, Raissi, and the spread of poverty among the Iranian population.

The British Committee for Iran Freedom strongly condemns the continuation of these crimes by the clerical regime and its repressive Revolutionary Guards.

We continue to support the views of Mrs. Maryam Rajavi and the National Council of Resistance of Iran to refer the case of these regime’s crimes against the Iranian people and Resistance to the UN Security Council for immediate and binding action.

Professor the Lord Alton of Liverpool

Independent Crossbench Member of the House of Lords

02 January 2022



The Lord Carlile of Berriew CBE QC, Co-Chair of British Committee for Iran Freedom
The Rt Hon. the Baroness Boothroyd OM, former Speaker of the House of Commons
The Baroness Verma, former Baroness in Waiting (HM Household) (Whip) and Parliamentary
UnderSecretary (Department for International Development)
The Baroness Harris of Richmond DL, Deputy Speaker of the House of Lords
The Rt Hon. the Lord Dholakia OBE DL, Co-Deputy Leader of the Liberal Democrat Peers and former Party
The Rt Rev. the Lord Harries of Pentregarth DD, former Bishop of Oxford
The Lord Singh of Wimbledon CBE, member of Joint Committee on Human Rights
The Lord McInnes of Kilwinning CBE, Director of Scottish Conservative & Unionist Party
The Lord Clarke of Hampstead CBE
The Baroness Masham of Ilton DL
The Baroness Redfern
The Lord Inglewood MRICS
The Lord Roberts of Llandudno
The Lord Turnberg
The Lord Cotter
Rt Hon David Jones MP, former Secretary of State for Wales
Rt Hon Sir Roger Gale MP, former Vice-Chair of the Conservative Party
Rt Hon Theresa Villiers MP, former Secretary of State for Northern Ireland
Rt Hon John Spellar MP
Steve McCabe MP, former Shadow Minister and Opposition Whip
Bob Blackman MP
Martin Vickers MP
Dr Matthew Offord MP
John Cryer MP
Ian Mearns MP
Jim Shannon MP