

#### IRAN STATEMENT April 2018

For nearly four decades, the Iranian regime has been condemned for its continued gross violations of human rights. More than 120,000 activists of democracy and human rights have been arbitrarily arrested, tortured and executed. In the summer of 1988, more than 30,000 political prisoners were massacred in only two months for opposing the religious dictatorship and supporting the democratic movement the PMOI. Amnesty International called this massacre a "Crime Against Humanity" and that its perpetrators must be brought to justice. According to the United Nations, the Iranian regime is the world's number one executioner per capita.

But despite such repression, in January 2018, the world witnessed wave of uprisings and protests by the Iranian people, which soon expanded to more than 140 cities. People chanted "*reformists, hard-liners, the game is now over*", "Down with Khamenei and Rouhani", "No to Gaza no to Syria our life is for Iran" and "Leave Syria alone, think about us!".

These demonstrate the true will of the Iranian people for changing the religious dictatorship and popular rejection of the regime's expansion of terrorism and warmongering in the region.

We declare our solidarity with the Iranian people and support their democratic objectives. The fact that these uprisings spread to more than 140 cities with nationwide slogans indicates the strong leading role of the PMOI in Iran for mobilising these protests. The regime's president, its supreme leader and many other regime officials have also admitted to the key role of main Iranian opposition and their supporters in organising these protests and their continuity.

The era has changed in Iran. People have risen up for democratic change and establishment of freedom in Iran, which will translate into peace and security in the region. We call on UK and European governments as well as the International Community to alter their policies of soft-line approach into decisiveness. The Iranian regime's terrorist Quds Force, Hezbollah and the Iranian Revolutionary Guard Corps (IRGC) must be expelled from the region. The relation with the regime must be made contingent upon an end to torture, executions, ballistic missiles and the spread of terrorism and war in the region.

We also express our solidarity with grand convention of the Iranian people in Paris on June 30 in support of the uprisings in Iran for the establishment of freedom and democracy.

We call on our governments and the International Community to side with the Iranian people and recognise the NCRI as a viable alternative to this faltering theocratic regime. We support the 10-point platform of the NCRI President-elect Mrs. Maryam Rajavi for establishing a democratic republic based on the separation of religion and state, sexual, ethnic and religious equality, devoid of a nuclear programme, the abolition of the death penalty, peaceful co-existence and commitment to international conventions and laws to guarantee popular rule, development and progress in Iran and the wider world. Read more here: <a href="https://ncr-iran.org/en/ten-point-plan/maryam-rajavis-ten-point-plan-for-future-iran">https://ncr-iran.org/en/ten-point-plan/maryam-rajavis-ten-point-plan-for-future-iran</a>

It is time for the international community to stand on the right side of history.

## Name and Surname:



## Signatories:

### House of Lords (100 Peers)

The Lord Carlile of Berriew CBE QC, Co-Chairs of British Committee for Iran Freedom Professor the Lord Alton of Liverpool The Rt Hon. the Baroness Boothroyd OM, former Speaker of the House of Commons The Lord Clarke of Hampstead CBE The Baroness Harris of Richmond DL, former Deputy Speaker of the House of Lords The Rt Hon. the Lord Dholakia OBE DL, Deputy Leader of the Liberal Democrat Party The Rt Rev. the Lord Harries of Pentregarth DD, former Bishop of Oxford The Lord Maginnis of Drumglass The Baroness Masham of Ilton DL The Lord Inglewood MRICS The Lord Rea The Lord Roberts of Llandudno The Lord Turnberg The Baroness Blood MBE The Lord Cotter The Lord Singh of Wimbledon CBE The Baroness Lister of Burtersett CBE The Baroness Meacher The Lord McInnes of Kilwinning CBE The Rt Hon. the Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top The Lord Elystan-Morgan The Rt Hon. the Lord Mackay of Clashfern KT The Baroness Howe of Idlicote CBE The Duke of Montrose The Rt Hon. the Lord Hunt of Kings Heath OBE The Lord Shinkwin The Lord Dunlop The Lord Ramsbotham GCB CBE The Rt Hon. the Baroness Symons of Vernham Dean The Lord Goddard of Stockport The Lord Polak CBE The Baroness Greengross OBE The Rt Hon. the Lord Maclennan of Rogart The Baroness Hussein-Ece OBE The Baroness Bakewell of Hardington Mandeville MBE

The Lord Watts The Earl of Cork and Orrery The Lord Russell of Liverpool The Baroness Hollins The Viscount Falkland The Baroness Golding The Viscount Simon The Rt Hon. the Lord Warner The Lord Pearson of Rannoch The Rt Hon. the Baroness Butler-Sloss GBE The Rt Hon. the Lord Wallace of Tankerness QC The Lord Hay of Ballyore The Lord Morrow The Lord Browne of Belmont The Baroness Howells of St Davids OBE The Earl of Glasgow DL The Lord St John of Bletso The Rt Hon. the Lord Rooker The Lord Macpherson of Earl's Court GCB The Lord Kirkhope of Harrogate The Lord Beecham The Lord Ouseley The Baroness Neuberger DBE The Baroness Smith of Newnham The Baroness Henig CBE The Lord Bew The Lord Brooke of Alverthorpe The Lord Giddens The Lord Stoneham of Droxford The Lord Strasburger The Rt Hon. the Lord West of Spithead GCB DSC The Rt Hon. the Baroness Kramer The Baroness Cox The Baroness Walmsley The Baroness Barker The Lord Desai The Lord Triesman The Lord Davies of Abersoch CBE The Lord Sterling of Plaistow GCVO CBE The Lord Birt The Baroness O'Loan DBE The Baroness Massey of Darwen The Lord Horam The Rt Hon, the Lord Stunell OBE



The Rev. the Baroness Richardson of Calow OBE The Baroness Kennedy of The Shaws QC The Baroness Thomas of Winchester MBE The Rt Hon. the Lord McNally The Lord Hylton The Baroness Smith of Gilmorehill DL The Lord Adebowale CBE The Lord Bird MBE The Rt Hon. the Lord Whitty The Lord Bradshaw The Lord Brookman The Lord Cashman CBE *The Lord Chidgey* The Lord Clement-Jones CBE The Rt Hon. the Lord Davies of Oldham The Baroness Deech The Earl of Dundee The Baroness Eaton DBE DL The Lord Elton TD The Lord Thomas of Gresford OBE QC The Lord Tope CBE

#### House of Commons (73 MPs)

Sir David Amess MP, Co-Chairs of British Committee for Iran Freedom Rt Hon. Theresa Villiers MP, former Secretary of State for Northern Ireland Rt Hon. David Jones MP, former Secretary of State for Wales Dr Matthew Offord MP Sir Roger Gale MP Mr Steve McCabe MP Jim Fitzpatrick MP Sir David Crausby MP John Cryer MP Mr Nigel Evans MP Bob Blackman MP Roger Godsiff MP Stephen Kinnock MP Vernon Coaker MP Rt Hon Sir Jeffrey M. Donaldson MP Sir Edward Leigh MP Kelvin Hopkins MP Chris Law MP Jim Shannon MP

Mark Tami MP Mr Stephen Hepburn MP Mr Ronnie Campbell MP Rt Hon Alistair Carmichael MP Sir Henry Bellingham MP Sir Robert Syms MP Rt Hon Dominic Grieve QC MP Hugh Gaffney MP Rt Hon Sammy Wilson MP Fiona Bruce MP Ian Paislev MP Jack Lopresti MP Paul Girvan MP Mr Barry Sheerman MP Rt Hon Alan Campbell MP Dr David Drew MP Rt Hon George Howarth MP Steve Double MP Jeremy Lefroy MP Paul Scully MP Andrew Rosindell MP Jess Phillips MP Rt Hon Maria Miller MP Rt Hon Joan Rvan MP Rt Hon David Hanson MP Martin Vickers MP Mr Jonathan Lord MP Ben Lake MP Chris Williamson MP Chris Stephens MP Rt Hon Tom Brake MP Tim Farron MP Teresa Pearce MP Stephen Pound MP Mary Glindon MP Mark Menzies MP Grahame Morris MP Gordon Henderson MP Mr Dennis Skinner MP David Simpson MP Stephen McPartland MP Sandy Martin MP Toby Perkins MP Rt Hon John Spellar MP Sir William Cash MP Peter Aldous MP



Mike Amesbury MP Dame Louise Ellman MP Ian Mearns MP Jonathan Edwards MP Tonia Antoniazzi MP Rt Hon Sir Kevin Barron MP Jon Cruddas MP Liz Twist MP