Australian Supporters of Democracy in Iran

P. O. Box 73 MORTDALE NSW 2223

Contact Mohammed Sadeghpour <u>iran4democracy@gmail.com</u> Telephone: 0415 536 443 Peter Murphy <u>peter murphy1 au@bigpond.com</u> Telephone: 0418 312 301

May 19, 2023

Senator The Hon Penny Wong Minister for Foreign Affairs Parliament House CANBERRA ACT 2600 Email: <u>foreign.minister@dfat.gov.au</u>

Condemn executions of 3 political prisoners in Isfahan, escalate action against the authoritarian Iranian regime

Dear Minister,

We are deeply angered at the execution of political prisoners Majid Kazemi, Saeed Yaqoubi and Saleh Mirhashemi in Isfahan today, despite the widespread protest action of the people of Isfahan and by the international community at the threat of these executions. In particular, Majid Kazemi has family in Sydney who have campaigned very persistently in Australia to save his life, and many Federal MPs have taken up his case. Our hearts go out to these families and to all the Iranian people tonight.

We deeply appreciate the immediate statements issued by you, Senator Steele-John and Senator Birmingham on twitter to condemn these terrible executions. We call on the Australian government to escalate its series of actions of December 10, February 1, and March 20, to hold this inhumane regime to account. This demonstrates the unity of our Parliament in its upholding of the human rights of the Iranian people and condemnation of that regime's actions.

This calculated escalation of terrorising political violence must be met by escalated urgent and effective action against the regime.

The people of Isfahan had threatened to escalate their uprising against the regime if these executions happened. In whatever way they can do this, we urge the Australian government to

Treasurer - Mohammed Sadeghpour Secretaries - Peter Murphy & Fr Claude Mostowik Committee

Dr Meredith Burgmann – Ms Lynda Voltz MLA – Michael Sukkar MP- Claire Moore - Doug Cameron – John Williams – Eric Abetz – Kelvin Thomson – Dr Hugh McDermott MLC- Penny Sharpe MLC - Sylvia Hale - Sonia Hornery MLA – Don Nardella - Rev Brian Medway – Rev Bill Crews - Stephen Pitt Walker – Fr Claude Mostowik -Dr Arthur Chesterfield-Evans - Bruce Childs - Dr Jocelynne A. Scutt - Dr Nina Burridge - Phil Glendenning -Professor Stuart Rees - Richard Walsham demonstrate clearly that we are on the side of the people in this historic and deadly fight for freedom and democracy.

These political executions were done amid a rapidly escalating wave of executions in Iran, demonstrating the desperation of the regime to somehow suppress the people's determination to rise up.

Yesterday, May 18, the Iranian regime carried out 14 executions. With the 3 executed in Isfahan today, that makes a shocking total of at least 110 executions during the past four weeks.

We urge you and your government to expand on your twitter statement in a more developed public statement to condemn these executions as an escalation of repression, and to announce a new set of actions to ensure that the Supreme Leader Khamenei knows that he is paying a price, and the Iranian people know that Australia is on their side:

- 1. Place sanctions on the judiciary figures and Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps figures who carried out the executions of Majid Kazemi, Saeed Yagoubi and Saleh Mirhashemi
- 2. Cancel the diplomatic visa of a senior official at the Iranian Embassy in Canberra
- 3. Freeze the assets in Australia of the family of Mohammad Bager Qalibaf, the current Speaker of the Iranian Parliament.

Sincerely,

Mened Sugman P.A.M. fry

Dr Meredith Burgmann **Committee Member**

Peter Murphy **Co-Secretary**

Cc Volker Turk, UN High Commissioner for Human Rights; EU High Representative Josep Borrell; Roberta Metsola, European Parliament; European Council; Senator Simon Birmingham; Senator Jordan Steele-John; Andrew Wilkie MHR, UN Special Rapporteur on Iran and on EJKs; DFAT Desk; Julia Dean.

> Treasurer - Mohammed Sadeghpour Secretaries - Peter Murphy & Fr Claude Mostowik Committee

Dr Meredith Burgmann – Ms Lynda Voltz MLA – Michael Sukkar MP- Claire Moore - Doug Cameron – John Williams - Eric Abetz - Kelvin Thomson - Dr Hugh McDermott MLC- Penny Sharpe MLC - Sylvia Hale - Sonia Hornery MLA – Don Nardella - Rev Brian Medway – Rev Bill Crews - Stephen Pitt Walker – Fr Claude Mostowik -Dr Arthur Chesterfield-Evans - Bruce Childs - Dr Jocelynne A. Scutt - Dr Nina Burridge - Phil Glendenning -Professor Stuart Rees - Richard Walsham