

Statement to Support Iranian Peoples' Quest for a Free Iran

As a bi-partisan group of members of the state of Connecticut General Assembly, we are writing to support the people of Iran who have been bravely protesting for their fundamental rights and freedoms in recent years, particularly since September 2022.

These protests are rooted in the more than four decades of organized resistance against the Iranian dictatorship, led by women who have endured torture, sexual and gender-based violence, and death. The Iranian people have been deprived of their fundamental freedoms, so they are rejecting monarchic dictatorship and religious tyranny, as evident in their protest slogans.

The Iranian regime has also arbitrarily and brutally suppressed ethnic and religious minorities, including Iranian Kurds, Baluchis, Arabs, Christians, Jews, Baha'is, Zoroastrians, and even Sunni Muslims, and deprived them of their fundamental human rights, and has, in many cases executed them.

The American people support the Iranian people's desire for a democratic, secular, and non-nuclear Republic of Iran. This sympathy was manifested in absolute majority support in the U.S. House of Representatives in the 118th Congress for H.Res.100, where it noted "support for the opposition leader Mrs. Maryam Rajavi's 10-point plan for the future of Iran, which calls for the universal right to vote, free elections, a market economy, and advocates for gender, religious, and ethnic equality, a foreign policy based on peaceful coexistence, and a non-nuclear Iran." This Jeffersonian platform righteously deserves the backing of every American.

We stand in solidarity with the people of Iran and support their aspirations for a democratic and secular republic government that respects human rights and the dignity of all individuals.

Rep. Gregory Haddad	Rep. Tim Ackert	Rep. Joe Hoxha	Sen. Mae Flexer	Sen. Rob Sampson
House District 54	House District 8	House District 78	Senate District 29	Senate District 16
Rep. Raghib Allie-Brennan	Rep. Mike D'Agostino	Rep. Maria Horn	Rep. John-Michael Parker	Sen. Jorge Cabrera
House District 2	House District 91	House District 64	House District 101	Senate District 17
Rep. Tom Arnone	Rep. Laura Dancho	Rep. Greg Howard	Rep. Michael Quinn	Sen. Paul Cicarelli
House District 58	House District 120	House District 43	House District 82	Senate District 34
Rep. Hector Arzeno	Rep. Lucy Dathan	Rep. Dominique Johnson	Rep. Geraldo Reyes	Sen. Christine Cohen
House District 151	House District 142	House District 143	House District 75	Senate District 12
Rep. Kai Belton	Rep. Tom Delnicki	Rep. Susan Johnson	Rep. Kara Rochelle	Sen. Bob Duff
House District 100	House District 14	House District 49	House District 104	Senate District 25
Rep. Aimee Berger-Girvalo	Rep. Mike Demicco	Rep. Eleni Kavros DeGraw	Rep. Kadeem Roberts	Sen. Ryan Fazio
House District 111	House District 21	House District 17	House District 137	Senate District 36
Rep. Matt Blumenthal	Rep. Keith Denning	Rep. Rachel Khanna	Rep. Dave Rutigliano	Sen. John Fonfara
House District 147	House District 42	House District 149	House District 123	Senate District 1
Rep. Mitch Bolisnky	Rep. Michael DiGiovancarlo	Rep. Sarah Keitt	Rep. James Sanchez	Sen. Herron Keyon Gaston
House District 106	House District 74th	House District 134	House District 6	Senate District 23
Rep. Pat Boyd	Rep. Patricia Dillon	Rep. Brian Lanoue	Rep. Robert Sanchez	Sen. Stephen Harding
House District 50	House District 92	House District 45	House District 25	Senate District 30
Rep. Kevin Brown	Rep. Jason Doucette	Rep. Jennifer Leeper	Rep. Hilda Santiago	Sen. Jan Hochadel
House District 56	House District 13	House District 132	House District 84	Senate District 13
Rep. Marcus Brown	Rep. Josh Elliott	Rep. Liz Linehan	Rep. Farley Santos	Sen. Julie Kushner
House District 127	House District 92	House District 103	House District 109	Senate District 24
Rep. Aundre Bumgardner	Rep. Kate Farrar	Rep. Geoff Luxenberg	Rep. Tony Scott	Sen. Kevin Kelly
House District 41	House District 20	House District 12	House District 112	Senate District 21
Rep. Larry Butler	Rep. Jack Fazzino	Rep. Cristin McCarthy Vahey	Rep. Travis Simms	Sen. Matt Lesser

House District 72 **Rep. Juan Candelaria** House District 95th **Rep. Devin Carnev** House District 23 **Rep. Rachel Chaleski** House District 138 **Rep. Holly Cheeseman** House District 37 **Rep. Robin Comev** House District 102 **Rep. Julio Concepcion** House District 4 **Rep. Michelle Cook** House District 65 **Rep. Francis Cooley** House District 22

House District 83 **Rep.** Antonio Felipe House District 130 **Rep. Anabel Figueroa** House District 148 **Rep. Mary Fortier** House District 79 **Rep. Fred Gee** House District 126 **Rep. Henry Genga** House District 10 **Rep. Jillian Gilchrest** House District 18 **Rep. Bob Godfrey** House District 110 **Rep. Rick Hayes** House District 51

House District 133 **Rep. Ben McGorty** House District 122 **Rep. Stephen Meskers** House District 150 **Rep. Amy Morrin-Bello** House District 28 **Rep. Mary Mushinsky** House District 85 Rep. Ron Napoli House District 73 Rep. Tammy Nuccio House District 53 Rep. Al Paolillo Jr. House District 97 **Rep. Corey Paris** House District 145

House District 140 **Rep. Jonathan Steinberg** House District 136 **Rep. Peter Tercyak** House District 26 **Rep. Gary Turco** House District 27 **Rep. Kurt Vail** House District 52 **Rep. Donna Veach** House District 3 **Rep. Steve Weir** House District 55 **Rep. Darrel Wilson** House District 46 **Rep. David Yaccarino** House District 87

Senate District 9 Senate District 9 Senate District 11 Sen. Rick Lopes Senate District 6 Sen. Ceci Maher Senate District 26 Sen. James Maroney Senate District 14 Sen. Martha Marx Senate District 20 Sen. Derek Slap Senate District 5 Sen. Gary Winfield Senate District 10